

Firsts of Queensland Parliament



1860



On 6 June 1859, Queen Victoria approves the creation of a new colony to be called Queensland.

On 22 May 1860, the Queensland Parliament meets for the first time, at the former convict barracks building in Brisbane's Queen Street.

In 1922, Queensland becomes the only state in Australia with a unicameral parliament after the upper house abolishes itself.

A portfolio-based committee system is introduced

2011

1922



and the legislative process is amended to include committee examination of bills.

The Human Rights Bill passes, requiring Statements







of Compatibility with Human Rights to be tabled for all bills introduced.

Fixed four-year terms commence, with the polling day being held on the last Saturday in October in the relevant year.



Firsts of Queensland Parliament

First Female MP



Irene Longman MLA was the Member for Bulimba from 1929 to 1932.

As a member of the Legislative Assembly, Ms Longman was instrumental in securing the appointment of the first women police in Queensland; creating a separate Children's Court; and appointing an advisory panel in difficult cases of juvenile delinguency.

First Aboriginal MP



Eric Deeral MLA was the Member for Cook from 1974–1977. His family had lived in the Cook electorate for over 20,000 years. In 1974, when Eric Deeral won the seat for the state of Cook, he became the first Aboriginal person to be elected to an Australian state parliament, representing the National Party.

First Female Speaker



The Honourable Fiona Simpson MP was elected to Parliament in 1992 as the Member for Maroochydore.

After the March 2012 election, Ms Simpson was elected by the Legislative Assembly to the position of Speaker, Queensland Parliament's first female Speaker in its 150 years.

First Aboriginal Cabinet Minister



The Honourable Leeanne Enoch MP was appointed as Minister for Housing and Public Works and Minister for Science and Innovation in 2015. This made her the first Aboriginal woman to be elected in the Queensland Parliament, and the first Aboriginal cabinet minister.

Ms Enoch is a Quandamooka woman of North Stradbroke Island.

First Female Premier



The Honourable Anna Bligh AC, Member for South Brisbane 1995–2012, was born in Warwick. Before entering politics, she worked in various community organisations including women's and neighbourhood refuges centres and as a Senior Policy Officer in the Queensland Public Service. In 2007, Anna Bligh became Queensland's first female Premier.

First Torres Strait Islander MP



Cynthia Lui MP has been the Member for Cook since 2017. Ms Lui is originally from Yam Island in the Torres Strait.

When she was elected to Parliament, she became the first Torres Strait Islander member of any parliament. Ms Lui is on the panel of Temporary Speakers so often chairs proceedings in the Chamber.